I spent the summer working through the book of Psalms in my personal time and in the pulpit.  I came away with some thoughts.  I don’t think any of my thoughts are particularly earth-shattering or mind-blowing.  However, I have been examined by the Holy Spirit and convicted of my feeble attempts at hiding from God and people.  Therefore, I would encourage you to spend some time in the songbook of Israel.

Thoughts…

  • Psalm 1 is the introduction to the whole of the book of Psalms.  I challenged our church members to memorize this psalm.  I have this memorized and love to recite it audibly to my listening heart.  I am continually challenged and encouraged by hiding the Word in my heart
  • The theme of ‘Two Ways to Live’ presented in this psalm is foundational to and points to the gospel
  • Psalms 1 & 2 present two amazing truths.  Psalm 1 tells us that we are blessed by the Word.  Psalm 2 elaborates and tells us that we are blessed in the Word, King Jesus!
  • I have never heard a sermon on Psalm 3 or 4.  The Holy Spirit did the most work on my heart during the weeks I preached from these two psalms
  • 12 of the first 14 Psalms are attributed to David.  I did not intend to preach a sermon series on  David, but in the end, this was a sermon series about the heart of David
  • David was human and he was real.  So often I try to hide under Christian platitudes.  The Holy Spirit worked through the Psalms to root out my prideful hiddeness.  He convicted me in the realm of Spirit-led, true, emotive worship.  David says the things we want to say but think we can’t and still be ‘good Christians.’  I want to be able to say, “Why, LORD!”, “How long, O LORD!”, “Where are you, LORD!” and not be concerned about what my wife, elders or fellow believers think
  • If I stop at crying out to the LORD and don’t rush to prayer, I am manifesting a cold, lifeless heart that is blinded to God’s amazing covenant love and faithfulness
  • The psalms are prayers
  • The psalms are relavent
  • The psalms are extremely convicting
  • The Holy Spirit is extremely concerned with our speech
  • The Holy Spirit is extremely concerned with our hearts
  • The psalms prepare us for Jesus: As we recognize the injustice in and around us, we cry out for the LORD to do something.  Jesus is the answer to all the prayers that make up the psalms

 

“But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.  I will sing to the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.”

Psalm 13:5-6

