Posted by Ken Schmidt

These two verses are from a song by Craig Morgan called “That’s What I Love About Sunday.” 

Raymond’s in his Sunday best,
He’s usually up to his chest in oil an’ grease.
There’s the Martin’s walkin’ in,
With that mean little freckle-faced kid,
Who broke a window last week.
Sweet Miss Betty likes to sing off key in the pew behind me.

Ooh, new believers gettin’ baptized,
Momma’s hands raised up high,
Havin’ a Hallelujah good time
A smile on everybody’s face.
That’s what I love about Sunday,
Oh, yeah.

Once again, a country song has presented us with great theology.  Great practical theology.  How we think and speak of our local church tells everyone what we think of Jesus.  Think about the numerous metaphors the New Testament gives for the local church.  She is the bride of Christ, body of Christ and the family of God.  So, speaking poorly of the local church is saying that Jesus’ bride is ugly.  His body is diseased.  And his family is dysfunctional.  Actually, all of these things are accurate.  At times Jesus’ bride is ugly.  His body is diseased.  His family is dysfunctional.  However, if we only speak of the ugliness, disease and dysfunction, we are telling a lie about Jesus and how he cares for his bride, body and family.  The way some speak of their local church, we would think that there is no beauty in Christ’s bride, no health in his body, and no joy in his family.

If I were to write this song, I would change the title and chorus to “That’s What I Love About My Church.”  I love many things about the local church where I am a member.  Some on Sunday, others throughout the week.  Let me share a couple of amazing things about my church that remind me that Christ’s bride is beautiful, his body healthy, and his family a delight.

First, I love it when the Praise Band begins to lead us in corporate worship through song on Sunday mornings.  I love it because I get to see an 88-year old member play his saxophone with joy, energy and excellence.  I love to see this man on the same stage as the 20-something playing the banjo.  Only in Jesus’ family! 

Second, I love it that one of our elders will tear up whenever he is talking about someone in some type of trouble.  I love the compassion in this man’s heart.  And this is normal in our church.  Whenever there is a need, someone fills it.  This happens on Sunday morning, Tuesday night, at church, at the local elementary school, for a person or for a group.

There are many, many more reasons, but these give you a snapshot.  What a beautiful bride, a healthy body, a great family! That’s why I can’t wait to spend more time with them tomorrow.

How about you?  What are you saying about your local church?  More importantly, what are you saying about Jesus?

