Posted by Ken Schmidt

How can Jesus be an idol?  I mean, Jesus is God.  Therefore, he cannot be an idol.  Right?

The Jesus of the Bible is God.  He is not and cannot be an idol.

The Jesus who is an idol is the idol that loves what you love and hates and what you hate, regardless of what the Bible says…and you call him Jesus.  Too often we put Jesus in our idol box.  Jesus becomes a miniature Ken or Scott or Dean.  Let me illustrate this.

  • I love the local church in America.  Therefore it is very easy for me to put forth the local church in America as the most important thing to Jesus.  I have to remember that Jesus is the God of all the churches of all the nations.  He ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation…(Rev 5:9).  Jesus, my idol, is only concerned with my local community.  Jesus, the Lamb of God, died for people of every tongue, tribe and nation.
  • I love family.  Therefore it is very easy for me to think and speak of the gospel in terms of family: marriage, fatherhood, children, adoption, etc.  I have remember that Jesus is the God of the broken-hearted families as well.  Jesus, my idol, is only concerned with making healthy and whole families.  Jesus, the bride-groom, loves his bride, individual and corporate.
  • I hate abortion.  Therefore it is easy for me to focus on the sin actions of those who support and are involved with abortion.  I have to remember that Jesus is full of grace and truth.  He loves sinners in a way that I don’t.  Jesus, my idol, is only concerned with eradicating abortion.  Jesus, the way the truth and the life, graciously forgives and gives life to the most vile of sinners (me!).
  • Jesus, my idol, has limited knowledge.  I do not have special concern for people groups in the remote regions of China.  Jesus, the Creator of all things, LOVES  his human-beings, whom he creation.
  • Radical environmentalism drives me nuts.  Jesus, my idol, thinks they are nuts.  Jesus, the Creator of all things,loves his creation and commands us to be good stewards of that which he created good and is redeeming. 

And we know that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding , so that we may know him who is true; and we are in him who is true, in his Son Jesus Christ.  He is the true God and eternal life.  Little children, keep yourself from idols.

1 John 5:20f

