Posted by Dean Paulson

I could not pass this up.    A portion of a powerful message by John MacArthur titled “Commitments of a Powerful Leader, Part 2”.  Titus 1:1-3.

I am not sure I have ever heard it put quite like this.

You can hear or read the rest at http://www.gty.org/AudioPlayer/Sermons/56-2

The following is quoted from the above titled message;

Go back to John 6, the last text in this little look and then I’ll pull it together. In John 6 verse 37 Jesus says, “All that the Father gives Me shall come to Me and the one who comes to Me I’ll not…certainly not cast out.” Why? Because anybody who comes to Christ is a gift from God. That’s right…is a gift from God. Verse 39, “This is the will of Him who sent Me that of all that He has given Me, I lose nothing but raise it up on the last day.” The Lord says when they come I won’t turn them down and once they’ve arrived I’ll keep them because the Father is sending them and He wants me to hold on to them.

And verse 40, “This is the will of the Father that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him may have eternal life and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.” And verse 44, “No one comes to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him and I’ll raise him up on the last day.”

Here’s the covenant, here’s the eternal covenant. The Father God says to the Lord Christ in eternity past, “I love You, I love You so much I want to give You something and what I want to give You is a redeemed humanity, I want to create a race of people and I want to redeem them and I want to give them to You as a gift and I want to give them to You to love You and adore You and honor You and praise You and worship You forever and ever.” That’s why there is a salvation because God predetermined in eternity past to give a love gift to the Lord and everybody who is saved is a part of that elect and chosen, predestined group of humanity that is going to be the love gift from the Father to the son. That’s why nobody ever gets saved unless the Father draws them because the Father knows who it is He’s giving the Son. That’s why the Son never loses the ones who come because He holds on with tenacity to the precious gift that God the Father has given to Him.

We are that redeemed humanity. And that is precisely the plan of redemption that is revealed in Scripture. Wonder of wonders, the day will come when God the Father will have drawn all of the predestined and elect humanity, they will have come to faith, they will embrace Christ, Christ will hold on to them and all of them together will arrive in glory. And they will be the love gift from the Father to the Son. And they will spend all eternity praising and honoring and serving and glorifying. And you know what is especially wonderful and remarkable? According to 1 Corinthians 15:28 it says the Son takes them all and gives them back to the Father so that God may be all and in all.

