I try and vary my reading.  In the Bible, I try and read from the OT, a Gospel and an epistle.  Theologically, I try and read a book that I generally agree with and one that I will most likely disagree with the author’s point.  I am currently reading Radical by David Platt (with whom I basically agree) and Love Wins by Rob Bell (with whom I am generally troubled). 

The last few posts I have written have dealt with discernment.  I am very troubled with Rob Bell’s writing because I think it shows a lack of pastoral discernment.  He has a large audience that listens to him.  He is artsy, edgy and hip.  He is also intentionally provocative and ambiguous.  He exalts questions, mystery and conversation above answers, clarity and authoritative teaching.

I like the quote below from Keving DeYoung as he blogs about the danger in this pastoral practice:

At some point, people need precision in our thinking.  Provocation has its place.  Ambiguity serves a purpose.  But the work of the preacher is to present the gospel in an open statement of truth (2 Corinthians 4:2).  Sooner or later people in the media, people in the hospital bed, people in the pews want to know what we think.  Conversation works in the foyer, but behind the pulpit, clarity is king.

You can read Kevin’s review of Love Wins here.  I would also recommend Tim Challies, Al Mohler, Christianity Today and Russell Moore’s as well.

