I like to talk about “gospeling.”  I think it is a great word.  I first heard the term from Dr. Jim Johnston when he served as my Sr. Pastor.  I liked it so much, I stole it.  I use it all the time.  It’s not a word, according to spell-check. It may be my version of George W. Bush’s “strategery.”

Regardless, I use it because I think it prescribes and describes what a Christian is to do.  We gospel ourselves and others.

The word gospel comes from the Greek word euangelion, which means “good news.”  The root of the Greek word connotes the bringing of a message.  So this word gives the sense of bringing good news to someone.  The modern word “Gospel” comes from the Old English word “Godspell”. In Old English, “god” with a long “o” meant “good”, and “spell” meant “word” (we carry this meaning also in our word “spelling”). So in other words, “Godspell” meant “good word,” and specifically, the good tidings concerning Jesus Christ.

Gospeling is an act of bringing the good news of Jesus Christ into every area of our lives.  Therefore, we are always gospeling.  The challenge for us is to recognize how we can gospel in the mundane of life.  How do we gospel at the breakfast table?  How do we gospel as we do the dishes?  How do we gospel with the tone of our voice?  How do we gospel in our technology habits? 

Gospeling takes work.  We must intentionally think through how we can gospel in every situation of life.  The gospel is the power of God to change hearts.  If you have put your trust in Jesus Christ and his work on the cross, you have the gospeling power to impact every sphere of your life.  This is good news!

