Posted by Dean Paulson

When I first heard about the news that Osama bin Laden had been killed I found my response to be mixed.  I began to ask myself, how I should respond as one who is a follower of Jesus Christ and who believes the Bible is the word of God.

Here are three ways that I believe that I as a Christian should respond.

 First, the Bible is clear that God is a just God.   Psalm 9:16  says that “The LORD is known by his acts of justice; the wicked are ensnared by the work of their hands.” (NIV 2011) Psalm 11:7 says “For the LORD is righteous, he loves justice; the upright will see his face.” (NIV 2011) It also tells us in Romans 13 that the rulers and authorities are to be the bearers of justice on this side of heaven.  It was determined by them that justice was to either capture or kill bin Laden. I believe we should respect their decision. On a spiritual level because God is a just God either we pay the penalty for our sins or Jesus will.  Justice will be done.

Second, we should support, pray for, and encourage the men and women who serve or have served in the military.  Thank the Lord that they protect us and our freedoms.

Third, Ezekiel 18:23 says, “Do I take any pleasure in the death of the wicked? declares the Sovereign LORD. Rather, am I not pleased when they turn from their ways and live?” (NIV 1984) This passage causes me to hesitate in taking pleasure in the death of bin Laden.

I am grateful for those who God has ordained to bare justice on this side of heaven and I am grateful for the military personnel that follow their orders.  I am grateful that God is just and does not ignore anyone’s sin but brings about justice.  I do not take pleasure in the fact that another human being has been deceived into choosing and believing that which will eternally condemn them.

